Want to earn a quick $5? Send me a PM - Cowfin

Thread: Canadians banned from being workers?

User
    Thanks

Default Canadians banned from being workers?

Hi there,

I'm from Canada (and on a Canadian IP) and just heard of mturk a couple days ago. I went to the website and registered an account with my basic information, and got the following response back.

<----
    We have completed our review of your Amazon Mechanical Turk Worker Account. We regret to inform you that you will not be permitted to work on Mechanical Turk.

Our account review criteria are proprietary and we cannot disclose the reason why an invitation to complete registration has been denied.
    ---->

I just don't understand it. It doesn't seem like there's anything proprietary that they cannot disclose. It's my first time ever on their site and all I provided was my name and email (which matched my name). So they have my name, email, and Canadian IP.

The only thing I can find online is that mturk is banning Indians from signing up due to the quality of work. Is this the same case with Canada or something? It just seems like either there's a lot of discrimination, or they're not accepting new signups all together?

Either way, it's kind of silly because the email makes it look like I did something wrong, which I haven't. Anyone have any idea on what's going on?

Thanks

I think Amazon stopped accepting new workers from Canada, I could be wrong though.

3. Thanks: (1)
    JFH
    User
    Thanks

One other thing too... You think if they didn't want Canadians, or Indians, or even that they weren't accepting new "turkers" anywhere that they wouldn't allow people to waste their time by signing up.